Matcha Macaron

Matcha Macaroons
Matcha Macaroons with white chocolate filling

The first time I tried Macaroon was the trip to Paris with my best friends at the year-end last year.

I have heard many times about this special cookies, about its wonderful taste and about how difficult it is to make them. Well… Macaroons are very delicious, I have to admit that. The colorful shells are pretty and the way those little Macaroons are packed in the box is also so nice, that people can feel its luxury. I have baked and eaten cookies many times but I don’t really like it. Because it is too dry for me. But Macaroon is an exception because of its sweet and creamy filling.

Since the trip to Paris, I have not had a chance to eat it again. So my friend and I have decided to try to make them despite the difficulty.

Because this is the first I made Macaroons so I did not have chance to develop my own recipe. Therefore, I copied the recipe from another website. But I will have my own soon.

The ingredients are very simple. All you need is:

For the batter:

  • 118 grams egg whites (room temperature)
  • 153 grams almond meal
  • 189 grams powdered sugar
  • 94 grams granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon matcha powder
  • Pinch cream of tartar (can be substituted with little lemon juice or ignored)
  • green food-color if required

For the Chocolate Ganache (just enough to make 32-34 sandwiches)

  • ½ cup whipping cream
  • 4 ounces dark chocolate (at least 72%), chopped finely
  • 1 tablespoon butter, softened

(This recipe is from Matcha Green Tea Macaron)

Because I eat less sweet than the other so I found the amount of powdered sugar too much, and also the almond meal. So I suggest to reduce a little bit. And I think a little green food-color would be great, because the cookies I made did not have a really nice green color. Or you can add more matcha powder, but be careful, the bitterness of the matcha could be produced and ruin the taste of Macaroon.

How to make:

  • The shells:
  1. preheat you oven to about 180 degree Celcius
  2. mix the almond meal, powdered sugar and matcha powder, then sift the mixture until fine. This can be done many times.
  3. before beating the egg whites, add a little bit of cream of tartar. Then beat it at low speed until foamy. At this point, increase the speed and add the granulated sugar. Keep beating until a stiff peak is formed when you lift the whisk.
  4. to the beaten egg whites, add the almond-sugar-mixture in 3 portions. Once one portion is well incorperated, add another one. Use a spatula to fold carefully and not to hard. The goal of this mixing is to get a lava-like mixture.
  5. Transfer the batter into a pastry bag with a round tip. Pipe about 4 cm rounds onto the parchment paper.
  6. Rap the baking sheet against the counter several times to remove air bubbles. Then let it rest for about 30 minutes until the batter does not stick to your finger when you touch it.
  7. bake the cookies for about 15-20 minutes. it is cooked when it lifts off easily from the parchment paper. Then let it cool completely before filling.
Baked Macaroons with typical tiny feet
Baked Macaroons with typical tiny feet
  • The filling: add all ingredients to a bowl and melt them on low heat. Keep stirring lightly while melting, until you get a smooth mixture. Do not melt them to liquid, because it will not be formed when filling the cookies. Then let it cool completely.

To fill the Macaroons: place the shells up-side-down. Transfer the Ganache to a pastry bag with round tip and fill half of the Macaroon shells. Then put the other shell that is not filled on top of the filled shells. Try to match the size.

And that is how Macaroon is made. It is obvious if you do not succeed at the first time but keep trying. Well, I had luck at the first time.

I hope that this would help you have your own Macaroons without travelling far to get them.

Mia Pham

Leave a Reply

